Tracking Racism Project: Betty Bowers Explains Traditional Marriage

Posted on March 25, 2013 by

0


Since I come through a lot of media everyday and have little time to comment, I feel the need to issue as many short posts as possible discussing little ephemera which I come across in social media that give me “a bad feeling”, especially in regards to representation of people from races and ethnicities that are not white.

This need arose from years of me posting on message boards and getting tired of being marked by other posters as being “politically correct” or “bringing up issues of race where they didn’t exist.”  That is bullshit.

In American society, we still use race and ethnicity when we make decisions about people.  We, meaning an all-encompassing “you”, “he”, “she”, and even “I” too.  With races and ethnicities, we make associations, which can then turn into judgments, and eventually decisions, which affect everything from how whether we decide to give someone a job, or a house.

Today, from a Slate.com link, I came across this Betty Bowers Explains Traditional Marriage Video.  I thought it would be interesting and would quote items directly from the bible.  It did make quotes towards the end, and eventually made a point that I’ve heard before:  lots of weird kinds of marriages are available, so why not let a man marry a man.  I hear that argument, but I don’t think its logically strong enough to convert people who disagree.

I didn’t really care too much for the condescending, smarter-than-thou tone, but I did take issue with the racial representations of the characters employed in their little narrative.

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 10.13.49 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My question is:  in a video full of representations of white folks (i.e. blonde hair, naked Adam), why is the representation of a rapist (featured at 1:25) represented by someone wearing symbols (do-rag, mustache, baggy clothes) associated with black males?

Why couldn’t the illustrator come up with a character who was also white?  Does this illustrator think that these activities are carried out by black people or hip-hoppers more?  Does this illustrator think racial and ethnic diversity is only good to represent a chaos?  Was this all intentional?